Waiting and Learning

imageI am waiting at the Social Security Office. I’ve been married more than forty-five years and am just now getting around to changing my name on my card. I hope this marriage works out. I’d hate to have to come back. The good thing about waiting is people-watching and listening.
The couple next to me got on a discussion over whether she’d be putting fat-back or bacon in the collards. She asserted,”I ain’t puttin’ no fat-back in my greens!” The guy was making up quite a fuss, but I think it will be bacon grease.
From another par, I found out Abby slipped off to school in leggings knowing better and Granny had to take her a pair of jeans, because Mama didn’t have the truck today.
Another couple discussed how sorry Jody was. She pulled a big hunk of Bobby’s hair out when he caught her with his cigarettes.
There are several left ahead of me. This is fascinating. I hope they don’t call me before I find out who the Baby-Daddy is.

20 thoughts on “Waiting and Learning

  1. People watching in real life is usually more fun than Facebook on your phone!

    I’ve been married almost 20 years and I didn’t change my name on anything. But I’ve been recently thinking of changing it at “home” while I write and (I hope) publish under my maiden name.

    It would be weird to change my name now, though, at age 50, so it’s probably just an idle thought.

    Liked by 1 person

Talk To Me!

