Old People Doings

image

imageI wonder if I do a lot of “old person” stuff? It’s probably one of those things your kid would have to tell you. Let me explain. After we went to the grocery store, I took Mother to Gateway to pick up her car. She took her small bag of groceries with her and went in to pay and get her keys while I waited in the lot off to the side, To be sure everything worked out okay. I knew I should have gone in with her. A few minutes later, she pulled behind me, blocking me and two other drivers. As the other drivers honked, Mother left her car in the drive and came over to talk to me.

“They just had to fix the front brakes. The back ones were fine! It only cost one hundred twenty-one dollars.” She was beaming.

“That’s great, but you need to move your car. People are honking!”

“Well they’re just gonna have to wait. I have to get my groceries.” She replied, huffily.

“Mother, you already put your bag in the car.”

“Oh, I forgot. Anyway, I had to tell you everything was okay.”

Annoyed at my nerve, she got in her car, pulled out and cut it too short, running over the curb as she pulled out.

About fifteen minutes after I got home, I got a call, “Could you see if I left my phone in your car. I can’t find it, anywhere.”

She had.

22 thoughts on “Old People Doings

  1. The news story was hilarious! My 92 year old mom moved in with one of my sisters a few months ago. I’m hearing more senior moment stories from them now. My sis is soon to be 70. She’s as bad as our mom!

    Like

  2. My husband was a terrible driver toward the end of his driving days. I was so relieved when we moved to India and he never drove again. My mother had Alzheimer’s. I was so glad she never drove. It’s hard for people to take the keys away. —- Suzanne

    Liked by 1 person

Talk To Me!

