I Loved Lucy

1251973651_frog-scratching

When I met Lucy, it was love at first site.  Not romantic love, true friend love.  Lucy’s hands were covered in warts.  Everybody knew you got warts from playing with frogs.  I played with frogs every chance I got, but so far had not been able to acquire the warts proving how tough I was. 

Naturally, I had to ask about it. “How’d you git them warts?”  I always took the subtle approach.

“How do you think?  From playin’ with frogs, Dummy.  Frogs’ backs is covered with warts.”  She climbed exponentially in my opinion, a girl who liked frogs and wasn’t afraid to say “pee” without looking around to make sure her mama couldn’t hear.  I had a hard life.  My own mother made us say “wee wee” and swore she’d know if we EVER said “pee.”  “Pee” was vulgar.  I’d had my behind paddled more than once for getting caught saying it.

“Have you got any frogs now?  I want to see them warts.” I had to know. 

“Sure.  There’s always some at the creek.”  She took off and I followed.  There were indeed plenty of frogs at the creek.  We caught a couple and examined them their backs splendidly populated with warts.

We had a wonderfufrogl time with those frogs.  I loved the feel of those scratchy warts on my fingers and lips.  Alas, long before I’d had my fill of warty frog love, Mother called out saying it was time to go, but not before I slipped a couple of frogs in my pocket.

“Oh no!  I gotta go, already.” I whined.

“That’s okay.  Next time you come back, we’ll git you a snake.” She promised.

I got the snake, but never did get my warts.

22 thoughts on “I Loved Lucy

  1. Oh I am not too keen on frogs, yet I had a wart on my thumb when I was younger! It didn’t last long thoough.
    We had to say ‘wee-wee’ too when I was younger and many people my age still say ‘wee’ (just once now we are adults)!!!
    Also,all privates were ‘bottom’ back, front, girls and boys!!!

    Like

  2. My mother was more like you. I, on the other hand, somehow could play with a friend who got dirty while I stayed clean. She could never figure it out. My mother gave us both a bath one day and said even my friend’s head was dirty. Her mother was clean so my friend got that way playing. 😀 — Suzanne

    Like

    • I remember sitting in the dirt pouring sand in my hair because it felt so cool. I still get dirty. My mother can wear white and stay clean working in the yard. Three of her kids are clean like her, then there’s me and one messy sister. We get dirty just walking.

      Like

Talk To Me!

