Wah! Wah! Wah!

Self-pity is relative. I am involved in the care of my ninety-six year-old mother, though she stills lives alone and does really well. My siblings help, but I have catered to her, a monster of my own creation. Naturally, she enjoys that and frequently tells them, “I’ll wait. Linda can take me in a few days.”

As it happens to seventy-seven year-old men, Hubby’s hip decided to show out last Friday. He’s really miserable. I have been a full-time nurse to him since then. Thank goodness, he sees his doctor today.

Consequently, I’ve felt pressed. Yesterday, thinking only of myself, I called my old friend to whine. She sounded stressed. “Can you call back in ten minutes?” No answer on my return call.

Soon she called me back. “Are you okay?”

“Yeah. Just whiny. Bud’s hip is giving him trouble.”

“Oh, that’s bad, but can I call you tomorrow? The kids are on vacation and I’ve got the grandkids at the pool. My phones running….”

It made me so happy!. Self-pity is relative!!!!!! I sent her this selfie.

13 thoughts on “Wah! Wah! Wah!

Talk To Me!