Bird Dog

I was greeted by the desperate fluttering of a bird trapped in my fireplace this morning.  Shutting the doors to adjacent rooms, I went for a flashlight and dish towel before opening the fireplace doors.  Fortunately, he was blinded and clung fearfully to the bricks when I shone the light on him.  I was so relieved he easily disengaged from the wall when I grasped him with the dish towel.  My heart soared as he winged his way to freedom like so many others I’ve released from my chimney trap.  I was reminded of another bird experience.

Annie, our Dalmatian dog once alerted me to a bird on the fireplace.  That time it didn’t go so smoothly, since I hadn’t yet learned to shine the light on the bird to confuse it.  The bird escaped into the living room.  It took me a few attempts before I caught and released it.  During the melee, Annie bonded with the poor, terrified bird.  She clearly enjoyed seeing its return to safety.  Lest you think a lot of kind thoughts about Annie, I need to let you know, that’s the only non-despicable she ever did.  She was sweet about the bird.

The next day, I went to visit my sister.  Marilyn had just gotten a bird.  That poor bird must have thought it had gone to Hell.  Marilyn’s cat  had his hissing face pressed into the cage with his front paws clutching the cage in a death grip.  The traumatized bird had backed as far away  as the cage would allow.  Marilyn was tired of pulling the cat off the bird’s cage, so when she offered me the bird, I took it.  The weather was fine, so the bird stayed on the patio for the rest of our visit with the disappointed cat’s nose pressed against the glass the whole time.

Annie assumed ownership of the bird, greeting it every time she walked by and napping by its cage.  The bird enjoyed her company chattering merrily when Annie greeted it. They were friends for several years until the bird’s death.  It was a heartwarming friendship.

 

9 thoughts on “Bird Dog

  1. AAaah. I love this story. It reminded me of the days growing up in my home, when I had a poodle and a cat. The cat was allowed to roam around outdoors whenever he pleased. The poodle could only go out on a leash. Whenever the cat attempted to go out the front door, the poodle gently wrapped her front paws around the cat’s stomach and tried to pull him back in. So sweet.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Well done, I didn’t know the tip about the torchlight. Years ago the elderly man across the road called to ask if my husband was in. He wasn’t, I offered to help but wasn’t any use. Behind a blocked up fireplace in the upstairs bedroom was frantic fluttering. In the end he phoned the local fire station; he did not dial 999, but they still sent a fire engine to rescue the bird!

    Like

Talk To Me!