Dear Auntie Linda, September 14, 2015

Auntie Linda

Dear Auntie Linda,  I hate my job and most off the people who work there.  It has reached the point  that I can’t sleep for dreading the next day.  I have to have this job.  I have been here twenty-four years and can’t find anything else where I make this much.  Sometimes I throw up on the way to work and go out to my car on break and cry. My performance ratings are low, so I can’t transfer until I get them up.  That would take at least six months.   I don’t see how I can stand another six months, let alone six years till I can retire.  What do I do?  Sick and Tired

Dear Sick and Tired, This sounds miserable.  Maybe you can work on a plan to improve your performance so you can transfer.  A realistic short-term goal might help.  Additionally,  it would be a good idea to talk to your doctor.  If  depression, stress, or health problems are effecting your work, medication or health care management might help.  If you really can’t continue, look at your expenses. Perhaps you could refinance your home or get a roommate to cut expenses.   Maybe there is some way you can cut back, or retire early.  If you did that, you might be able to accept a job that pays less and is less demanding.  Auntie Linda

Dear Aunt Linda,  I spent the weekend with my sister recently.  Her teenage son had company in and out all weekend.  While I was there, my Rolex watch went missing from the locked bedroom.  I am sure it was stolen.  I am very careful with my things, and recall returning it to my suitcase before we gathered for dinner on the patio.  Many guests were there.  Over my sister’s objections, I reported it to the police but so far there is no trace of it.  There was no sign of a break in.  She also doesn’t want me to file an insurance claim since an investigation will ensue.  I can’t afford to let this drop. What are her responsibilities and mine? Devastated

Dear Devastated, What would you do if this happened in a hotel room, at work, or your own home?  Your sister is asking too much to expect you to ignore this loss.  She probably has concerns other guests who were there.  Sounds like an investigation might be warranted.  Auntie Linda

2 thoughts on “Dear Auntie Linda, September 14, 2015

  1. Just Plain Ol' Vic says:

    If all we focus on is our salary, then we will destined to be miserable. There are so many other positive things to look for in a job.

    So we need to ask ourselves, do we have the courage to be happy?!

    Liked by 1 person

Talk To Me!