Tombstone in the Bedroom

Cousin Kat  (Kathleen) was proud of being “conservative.”  To the rest of us, it looked a lot like stingy.  When it looked like her mama might be considering dying, it just so happened, Dan Walter’s Funeral Home and Monument Company was going out of business.  She talked him down till she got a real nice headstone for Mama and a beautiful double Continue reading

Epiphany on Retirement

We’ve been married more than forty years, but we both just retired.  It’s like getting married, except no honeymoon.  I get up early to write and make coffee.  Bud gets up, fixes our coffee and we drink coffee for a while.  I cook breakfast and tidy up a bit while Bud checks the history channel to see what Hitler is up to today or to see which Global Continue reading

Writing on the Toilet Walls (from Kathleen’s Memoirs of the Depression)

When I started first grade at Cuthand School, I took my reader home every night, and with Annie’s help, read several lessons ahead. I’d always longed to read, but by now had another incentive, although a secret one. The inside toilet walls at the school were covered with hundreds of words and sentences, all tantalizing out of my illiterate reach. Continue reading