Banana Pudding Bowl Blasphemy

imageSee this innocuous-looking dish.  It doesn’t look like it could break up a marriage, but you just wait. Bud chose this dish when he and his sisters divided his mother’s belongings shortly after her death.  He brought it home, showed it to me, and told it was what she’d always made banana pudding in.  Not realizing the significance of that statement, I callously baked a chicken in it less than a week later..  He came in, was delighted to see “The Banana Pudding Bowl” sitting on the stove.  He attempted to lift the lid to admire the pudding and burned his fingers.  I never heard such howling and deprecations before or since. I came to understand that bowl was only for banana pudding

Ask Auntie Linda, August 27, 2015

Auntie Linda

Dear Auntie Linda, My husband and I have been happily married for six years and have two-year-old twin girls.   We are very close to our families.  In fact, our parents babysit, so they have never even been in daycare.  My husband has recently been offered the position of Chief Nursing Officer major hospital two hours away.  This would be a opportunity. I am a nurse also, but with his pay increase wouldn’t even have to work, if I didn’t want to.  Here  is the problem.  I don’t want to leave my home and take the children from their grandparents.  We have always gone to church here.  This is where our friends and lives are.  Would it be a mistake to ask Joey to take an apartment in the new town and commute on weekends?  With the pay raise, we could easily afford it.  Hometown Girl

Dear Hometown Girl,  Think really hard about this.  I wouldn’t want to risk my happy marriage and my children’s family time just to maintain a home near extended family.  Should my husband suggest living apart, I’d feel expendable.  This could be a mistake that would change your life forever.  Auntie Linda

Dear Auntie Linda,  I work in a Womens Tall and Stout shop.  I’ve seen a male family member shopping for underwear for himself in my store several times. He has waved to me.  I usually duck out and ask someone else to assist him?  I’d be happy to help him, but don’t really know how to handle this.  What should I do?  Puzzled

Dear Puzzled,  He obviously knows you work there.  Treat him like you would any other customer.  Offer to help. Take your cue from his behavior. Auntie Linda

Joke of the Day

At St. Peter’s Catholic Church in Toronto , they have weekly husband’s marriage seminars.
At the session last week, the priest asked Giuseppe, who said he was approaching his 50th wedding anniversary, to take a few minutes and share some insight into how he had managed to stay married to the same woman all these years.
Giuseppe replied to the assembled husbands, ‘Wella, I’va tried to treat her nicea, spenda da money on her, but besta of all is, I tooka her to Italy for the 25th anniversary!”
The priest responded, “Giuseppe, you are an amazing inspiration to all the husbands here! Please tell us what you are planning for your wife for your 50th anniversary?”
Giuseppe proudly replied, ” I gonna go pick her up.”